New truck specs opinions

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by azspike, May 18, 2019.

1. azspike

azspike Bobtail Member

Dec 31, 2017
    Looking at a new truck- I am a newbie and looking for some experienced members for their opinion. 2020 Peterbilt Daycab 579. Ill try to keep this short and I don't want to get into the used or brand issues. We haul fuel via tanker- city work- in the midwest- so no big hills just a few good city hills..lol. Most of driving is on city streets- but there is a some highway driving- about 10 miles each direction. The business plan is just in state city work. The Tractor I'm looking at has the paccar MX 13 430hp@1600. 3.08 axle. tires are 22.5. Wheelbase is 176, low air leaf suspension and automatic 12 speed. Besides brand choice- I am looking for good fuel efficiency, light weight and ability to pull as much fuel as we legally can. Specs out weight at 14,900. Any thoughts or red flags? My two main items of concerns were is this enough hp and the wheelbase size (too small?)...but appreciate all your expert opinions.

im6under Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Rkw1969

Rkw1969 Bobtail Member

Apr 19, 2019
    I would personally go with the X15, 10 speed and a 3.70 rear ratio. If I’m not mistaken you should do 24.5 tires to keep your 5th wheel height at 52”. Keeps the tankers more level.

4. Cat sdp

Cat sdp . .

Apr 8, 2012
    Orion's Belt
    Get rid of that 3.08 axle.........

if your doing city work at 80k you aren’t going to save fuel with it anyways....

You can raise the 5th wheel to get the height you need . Keep the 13L and 22.5 rubber to save tare weight.

The auto I could do without, but that’s your choice.....

azspike and Lepton1 Thank this.
  5. kylefitzy

kylefitzy Road Train Member

Aug 12, 2007
    Kansas city,Mo