Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by TerminatorTransport, Mar 8, 2007.

1. TerminatorTransport

TerminatorTransport Bobtail Member

Mar 8, 2007
    Hi guys and gals. Just joined the forums like a minute ago. I am looking at taking on trucking as my next career. Currently I am in the Navy on submarines, so the long hours and days being away from home of trucking wouldn't even phase me. I plan on using my re-enlistment bonus of 32K to buy my first truck and start out as an O/O. Is that a good move? The truck I have in mind is a Kenworth T2000 With the Detroit 12.7L 500Hp engine matched to a merritor 12-speed automatic. What do you guys think of this type of truck? My dad who is a trucker prefers Volvos but he says the KW's are nice.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. luvmyhubby

luvmyhubby Road Train Member

Sep 12, 2005
    Sidney MI
    First, THANK YOU for your service to our country, second WELCOME to the forum!

WOW you have some big plans, and I know our members once they get the chance will have some good advice for you BUT as a drivers wife I would suggest that you get your CDL, and get to know the industry BEFORE you try to become an O/O.....this business can be tricky and you really need OTR experience and to know the ins/outs before you put all your money into it.......jmo

GOOD LUCK and enjoy the board

4. Ducks

Ducks "Token Four-Wheeler"

Jan 1, 2007
    Southeastern Pennsylvania
    Welcome to the forum, Terminator! I'm not a trucker, so what I know is pretty much what I've learned from friends who are drivers and folks here on the boards. But what luvmyhubby said is pretty much the consensus -- that prior to becoming an O/O, you should probably get a year or two experience to just get first-hand knowledge of the industry... and use that time to set up your game plan for your own business based on what you learn while you are working.