No experience but getting Authority

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by That New Guy, Feb 7, 2011.

1. That New Guy

That New Guy Bobtail Member

Feb 7, 2011
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    I've been a successful business owner in the past and have always had a love for trucking. I am researching getting my own authority and starting my own Incorporated company. I plan on hiring an experienced trucker to drive for my company. I plan to pay him/her well (.50 to .55 a mile) and give good benefits.

I will start out with 1 truck and 1 driver (obviously not me)

I need to buy a good reliable used truck for about 30K. I have heard stay away from Volvo because repairs cost to much and parts are hard to find. What are your thoughts on a Kenworth or Peterbilt? They tend to have a high resale value but do they break down alot?

I am going to start out using a broker since I have no connections and build from there? I hate employing a middleman but whats your feeling about brokers?

Can you also tell me some reasons why you've seen other small trucking businesses go out of business.

Thanks alot to everyone who responds!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 7mouths2feed

7mouths2feed "Family Man"

Nov 29, 2007
    Jacksonville, AR
    One truck with driver will not earn you anything. The only reason for doing this would be to A) Just be able to say you own a truck. B) Are a great guy looking to give someone a job that you finance or C) understand that your not going to make anything before getting at least 2 more trucks and want to keep your risk cost lower.