Oldeskool going flatbed

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by OldeSkool, Apr 28, 2024.

1. OldeSkool

OldeSkool Road Train Member

Jul 17, 2018
    New Hampshire
    Well I haven’t been on here for a while, but I sold my truck after 7 years and after a few months of doing other odds and ends to make a living I am planning to start with a flatbed company. They run quite new equipment and have excellent pay and benefits. The owners son was who I talked to and he seems very nice. Anyway, it’s all lumber hauling mostly on flatbed occasionally on conestoga trailers. They have a 3 week training period, but as I am new to flatbed any tips you want to give me would be great.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. NightWind

NightWind Road Train Member

Nov 11, 2006
    Sunny South, AL
    Well good luck, hope you are in great shape cause those tarps can and will kill ya.
    Joke: When are a flatbedders hands clean?

After eatting Kentucky Fried Chicken, umm finger licking good.
    Sorry ......I couldn't help myself

4. OlegMel

OlegMel Light Load Member

Apr 8, 2023
    Lumber isn’t hard to haul usually. Know when to use your edge protection because it can damage your straps or you can damage product if it’s finished. Belly strap any load that’s 5’ or higher or has multiple layers. Make sure it’s nice and tight so boards don’t walk on you. If ends are sharp than get in a habit of padding the sharp edges so you’re not spending your weekend fixing the tarp. Watch some YouTube on tarping so you have a good idea.

OldeSkool, CAXPT and TX2Day Thank this.
  5. OlegMel

Apr 8, 2023
    Also get yourself some Milwaukee cut resistant gloves level 3 from Home depot. They will last you a good amount of time. Regular gloves will tear in a heart beat.

lual, OldeSkool, CAXPT and 1 other person Thank this.
  6. REO6205

REO6205 Road Train Member

Feb 15, 2014
    California.