Opinions please. Class A training around Detroit Lakes MN area?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by flint1760, Jan 22, 2019.

1. flint1760

flint1760 Bobtail Member

Jan 17, 2019
    Frazee, MN
    Hey all.
    I’m wondering if I could get some advice? I live near Detroit Lakes Minnesota. Nearest trucking area is Fargo ND which is about one hour. I have a Class A CDL (tanker & hazemat with probably 100,000 miles of class B experience ( which is obviously a totally different animal for tractor trailers experience). No accidents or offenses. I am a older veteran also. I have applied to a couple of class A jobs with no response yet. I am looking for regional dedicated if I can get it. A few overnights a week are just fine. My main observation is that I would need to go to CDL school such as Prime or Roehl or something to get the experience part of school training, with a one year contract and I am certainly not opposed to that. I do understand that I need to be driving to make everyone money. However, do you think that there may be a carrier near me that might let me team train or some kinda entry driving to get me in or should I just concentrate on finding a carrier school? Thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    How long have you been out of a truck? I assume you've been in touch with Magnum? They may have some regional non-class A positions in your area where you may could get back in the game

4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Western Express or Abilene Motor Express might give you a chance. Call and ask.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    For school, look at :
    Jim Palmer Trucking - Missoula, Montana
    Wilson Logistics - Missoula, Montana
    CFI - www.cfidrive.com