Opportunity for LTL trucking job

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Labrador, Sep 13, 2018.

1. Labrador

Labrador Medium Load Member

May 31, 2018
    I have an opportunity to join a company for LTL (less than truckload). I am new to the business and have no experience driving but do have a CDL license with all endorsements except passenger and bus. I am looking for a job where I could be home daily, or at worst over night trips for, regional driving I think it is called.

It is my understanding that local LTL driving jobs were typically sought after or only filled by more experienced drivers, but things are changing now due to the trucking shortage.

This LTL job opportunity is located in southern california, so heavy urban traffic situation.

Given I have no experience, do you think this job may be too much for a new CDL holder because the driving conditions, backing situations at customers etc might be too difficult? I have no idea what to expect. I asked the company if I could do a ride along in one of their trucks but they said they could not do that for liability reasons.
    I would appreciate any input. Thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    If they have the home time you want; go for it. Several LTL companies hire new cdl drivers, so that's not unusual. Just take it slow and easy in the beginning.

CJ701 and Texas_hwy_287 Thank this.
  4. Labrador

Labrador Medium Load Member

May 31, 2018
    Alright very good I appreciate the reply

5. motocross25

motocross25 Road Train Member

Sep 23, 2010
    Overland Park, KS