Overtime for local Ontario truck drivers? A lot of confusion

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Rayzala, Sep 24, 2020.

1. Rayzala

Rayzala Bobtail Member

May 18, 2018
    I work at a place that doesn't pay overtime. Its illegal and people usually lawyer up and get what they're owed after quiting but they get away with a lot. But the other day one of our most senior drivers got fed up and went in and demanded it and started telling all the other drivers.

So now the company is talking about going back 2 years and paying us for what we didn't get. The issue is there is a lot of confusion on when overtime kicks in.

I am a local city driver who ocasionally does regional runs. Most of the time I'm not more than 50km away from our yard.

Hours of work - Motor transport - Canada.ca

At the bottom of this link on the canada.ca website it says 45 hours for city motor operators....

https://www.ontario.ca/document/industries-and-jobs-exemptions-or-special-rules/transportation

Yet here it says local drivers & helpers don't get it until 50 hours in Ontario

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/kitchener-waterloo/kitchener-driver-overtime-pay-1.5295025

And here there's an article about a driver who didn't get paid overtime at Loblaws and 8it states:

"Last year, an arbitrator found Loblaws violated Ontario's Employment Standards Act for not paying drivers overtime after the required 44 hours a week."

Extremely difficult to find an answer on this was hoping we have some Ontario drivers here who can clarify.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. not4hire

not4hire Road Train Member

May 16, 2012
    Calgary
    Are you driving under a federal or provincial CVOR? That determines whether you're regulated by the federal or provincial labour regulations. After that, it's easy(ier).

4. '88K100

'88K100 Road Train Member

Aug 23, 2020