Owner Operator Safety Audit

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Scuba Steve, Jun 21, 2009.

1. Scuba Steve

Scuba Steve Light Load Member

Jun 21, 2009
    Chicago IL
    Hi, I am very new to the trucking company and am in the process of getting my own authority. I know that after you start a trucking company you will be safety audited sometime soon after. I cant really find too much info on what exactly they want to see at this safety audit. I am the only driver right now with one truck, no employees. Another thing is that I see a lot of people that started trucking companies say that their employees are in a drug testing pool, do I need to be in one being the only employee. A medical card for an owner operator for my own company didnt require me to take a drug test, does this matter when the safety inspector comes out for this audit? Any help is greatly appreciated!!:biggrin_25525:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. wheathauler

wheathauler Trucker

Mar 10, 2009
    Hutch, Kansas
    Yes, you have to be in a drug testing pool.

4. Ken

Ken Couch Commander

Oct 29, 2006
    You need to be in a drug pool.. You even need to have an employment app from yourself. You also need a driver's abstract on file..

5. RickG

RickG Road Train Member

Jul 22, 2008
    Owensboro , KY
    This should help . You need everything there required for an employee . You are employing yourself .

General Information Folder

List of equipment (trucks, tractors, trailers, plate numbers, etc.)

List of current driver's names and number for the last 350 days

List of corporate officers

Insurance Folder

Insurance liability coverage

MCS-90 form

BOC-3 form

Cargo insurance coverage

Accident Folder

Accident Register

All Accident Reports

Driver Qualification for Each Driver

Drivers application form

Inquiry to all previous employers

Inquiry to state agencies