Past Felonys..New Driver..Need Help

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by seventhirty, Feb 26, 2017.

1. seventhirty

seventhirty Light Load Member

Feb 26, 2017
    Connecticut ~203~
    Please can anyone help? I live in Connecticut. I graduated from CDL school a couple months ago. Being a truck driver was something I've wanted to do most of my life. Unfortunately I've hit a major obstacle. My past is not so clean. For a long time I ran the streets and did the wrong thing. Sadly the only thing I have to show for it is Felony convictions on my record. That being said I was incarcerated in 2012. I came home in 2015 and turned my life around. I left my past behind and stayed focused on what was important! The school was telling me (DONT WORRY YOUR PAST IS NOT A PROBLEM)!! Well I've found out that it is a problem!! I've applied to just about every "starter" company out there. And it always falls on my record or how long I've been out of prison. There isn't any major crimes such as murder or anything, but still their crimes I guess. I guess I'll just put it out there in the case someone decides to help. I have past burglary and possession charges.

Hopefully someone can help me. Just looking for a chance to prove myself. DRIVE SAFE

pattyj and Shock Therapy Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. boneebone

boneebone Road Train Member

Mar 13, 2009
    Have you tried to get a Expungement or have the Felonies reduced to a Misdemeanor?

That should be a first step in leaving your past behind

Badmon and seventhirty Thank this.
  4. austinmike

austinmike Road Train Member

Jul 11, 2011
    Missouri