Possible DUI

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Artist360, Aug 14, 2022.

1. Artist360

Artist360 Bobtail Member

Aug 14, 2022
    I'm a cdl b driver that had an accident in my truck. The other person had to get towed. They gave me a drug test but no alcohol test. I didn't know they had to give me one since a vehicle was towed. I admit that I wa under the influence. I have a court date later in the year.

Should I admit to my employer that you and I didn't know the Alcohol test should have been done? or should I just ride it out and act like I didn't know.

Another Canadian driver and flood Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Wasted Thyme

Wasted Thyme Road Train Member

Jan 27, 2020
    GOAT watching
    You should give up your CDL and find another job. We don't need people who are going to be drunk and driving in this industry.

4. Artist360

Artist360 Bobtail Member

Aug 14, 2022
    I will. Was looking at a way to lessen the impact.

5. Dave_in_AZ

Dave_in_AZ Road Train Member

May 4, 2015
    You should not post another word about this in public, and consult an attorney.

6. GoneButNotForgotten

GoneButNotForgotten Heavy Load Member

Dec 30, 2009
    Roxboro, N.C.
  7. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Keep quiet and ride it out as if you didn't know.
    Don't tell your boss. Don't tell anyone.
    You may need that cdl someday so don't throw it away.
    Post #4 by @Dave_in_AZ is the best advice.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2022
  8. wis bang

wis bang Road Train Member

Jan 12, 2011
    Levittown, PA
    If audited over the next 5 years; that carrier would be fined if it was discovered as they reviewed the Drug and Alcohol records.

I had one where we ordered both tests, post accident, and the clinic failed to do the BAC.