Private 3500 GMC HD pickup truck and 27' horse trailer

Discussion in 'ELD Forum | Questions, Answers and Reviews' started by Holli, Jan 14, 2018.

1. Holli

Holli Bobtail Member

Jan 14, 2018
    As an equestrian, there seems to be no clear answers to any of our questions. I am a professional equestrian and as such am now required to get an ELD; however, my 3500 GMC HD Duramax Denali (which I do use to drive my four horse 27' gooseneck trailer to horse shows) is also my personal vehicle - which is 90%+ of the time. My question is: how do I tell an ELD when I'm actually hauling and when I'm driving my son to school (or the like)? Also, I don't need a system that tracks a fleet. It's one truck. Any suggestions on what to use? I generally travel two to three times a month for shows within 450 miles. My next big scheduled trip is to Aiken, SC (a good 11 hour trip for me from Ohio) and I really need answers before then.

Any answers will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Jeff Waterstreet

Jeff Waterstreet Bobtail Member

Dec 31, 2017
    Hello Holli,

Good news, you are exempt from needing an ELD. You can simply use paper logs on your 2-3 trips you make every month.

The ELD mandate states that if you drive 8 or less days per month on trips that fall under the federal HOS rules, you are not required to get an ELD. (but are still required to fill out paper logs while on those trips)