Question about chip hauling

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by rclandandtimber, Apr 25, 2018.

1. rclandandtimber

rclandandtimber Bobtail Member

Apr 25, 2018
    I'm looking at leasing onto Fleetwood hauling chips as an owner operator. Right now I work full time as a coal miner and running a small logging business. I'm a one man show and it's been a learning experience but it's too much work for one man so I'm thinking of just focusing on trucking and hauling other people's wood. I've talked with Fleetwood, there's a mill near me and the trip is 20 mins one way so I could probably make quite a few loads. I've told them that I have a full time job and won't be able to haul everyday. They told me there's no mandatory amount that I work. She said the goal is 10 loads a week but not mandatory I just get more percentage after the 10th.

What I'm afraid of is leasing on and then being told that I'm required to work when they tell me, which won't work for me. Can they tell me one thing and it be a complete lie? I guess it wouldn't be a big deal as I still have my job at the mine.

Next question is my current truck is a Mack Superliner self loading log truck. How difficult would it be to convert it from a straight log truck to a bobtail? I'm considering selling it and just buying a bobtail truck. Just wondering what others thoughts are on this. My goal is to just make the monthly note until I'm comfortable enough to do it full time.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ncdriver1

ncdriver1 Road Train Member

Dec 3, 2012
    read the contract they hand you. it will state if theres forced dispatch or a minimum # of loads and any other surprises.

4. rclandandtimber

Apr 25, 2018