Question regarding cannabis and driving within Canada

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Fluidzooid, Nov 2, 2023.

1. Fluidzooid

Fluidzooid Bobtail Member

Nov 2, 2023
    Hi all,
    Complete newbie here, I recently obtained my class A license a few months ago and have been looking for a gig. For a couple months, I would smoke 2-3 times a week in my free time. I'm aware you can't smoke and do runs in the US. It's been over 2 months since I last smoked, but I tested positive a few weeks ago with one of those at home test kits. I recently got hired for a local job, but they said they do not allow any cannabis use, even though it is federally legal. I submitted a non-DOT pre employment urine sample today. If it were to come back positive, do we have something in Canada like the clearing house, or will it go on my record or something? I don't want this to affect future employment opportunities.

Thank you for the responses.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. upnorthwpg

upnorthwpg Road Train Member

Sep 23, 2011
    Not to my knowledge. Honestly, if you need to smoke pot, don’t bother driving truck. An employer can’t share officially your results with another employer, but a
    I’m guessing they would.

4. classicxl

classicxl Medium Load Member

Dec 16, 2006
    I don’t believe a positive would affect your drivers license unless caught by police smoking weed while driving. Having said that you can be called up for a Random drug and Alcohol test at anytime and up to 100 times a year by the Government and if you fail it would go on your clearing house account which i believe potential employers can see and your employer would probably fire you also . I don’t necessarily agree which not being able to smoke weed on your time off but it is what it is . If you want to drive a truck don’t do drugs plain and simple

5. Albertaflatbed

Albertaflatbed Light Load Member