Ratchet Straps and Tarps for a 40' trailer, what do I need?

Discussion in 'Expediter and Hot Shot Trucking Forum' started by Miroh, Dec 31, 2018.

1. Miroh

Miroh Light Load Member

Oct 3, 2018
    Hello again! I'm new to flatbed. I've driven a dry van for a bit so my experience is little. These should be in reference to a 35ish to 40 foot trailer. Alright so I've ordered a few straps and I do know I need more but didn't want to buy a ton and find out i needed different. How long is a good length to go for? I purchased (6) 2in x 30ft and (2) 3in x30ft straps with the flat hook. The 3 inch ones i think were a bit much but I didn't know. So, is 30 feet a good length to obtain? Would the flat hook or curved hook be better? I have several smaller ones that I keep for personal use but their length might be 15 or so feet.

Also, tarps.Someone awhile back suggested this tarp in a general conversation but I don't think its waterproof or am I missing something? What would you suggest? Again, this is in reference to a 35ish but more than likely 40 foot trailer that I have yet to purchase.

Thanks again!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Rubber duck kw

Rubber duck kw Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2017
    Most stuff should have 4 inch straps not 3s and definitely not 2s. One strap for every ten foot of trailer and then a couple extras.

singlescrewshaker Thanks this.
  4. Rubber duck kw

Rubber duck kw Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2017
    And this is the bare minimum.

5. Miroh

Miroh Light Load Member

Oct 3, 2018
    Oh really? Wow, glad I asked. Thanks for the info.

Alrighty then! I will get wider ones lol! Thanks! So, is 30 feet long good enough though? Man, these are expensive.

Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  6. mslashbar

mslashbar Medium Load Member

Jul 22, 2009
    elizabeth,co