Recievers send u to different location.

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by D.Tibbitt, Feb 25, 2020.

1. D.Tibbitt

D.Tibbitt Road Train Member

Apr 26, 2013
    Gettin' down westbound
    So ive run into this situation a couple times as a company driver but never as a o/op . Well i think it happens more so in flatbed but figured id ask any body who has had a similar situation.

U get to the delivery location and address that is on ur bills, but that customer wants u to drive out to the jobsite, say 30 miles away, and to offload the freight there. As a company driver i would always clear it with dispatch and go out there no questions asked. But now as an o/op i am getting tired of people wasting my time and energy and i told them it is going to cost extra money to send me out of route. i need to work it out with the broker first, to make sure i am getting paid for the extra miles and time, that it is going to cost me and my equipment.. And i wont be moving an inch until the new rate con is in my inbox. Well they ended up unloading me at the warehouse after i told them that.

My question is , Is this a reasonable request ? Have u guys ever been successful with getting that extra money ? Or would u have just gone out to the jobsite without raising any questions about it? And u guys know as well as i do , 30 miles away can quickly turn into 50 or more

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. mpd240

mpd240 Road Train Member

Sep 17, 2011
    Minnesota
    Don’t work for free. Write up bol and quote them a price. If they don’t want to pay get it off my truck or haul it yourself. Used to have this happen all the time. Reason they are doing it is because it saves them money. Did it a few times at first till I got tired of them wasting my time. And I was a company driver. Time management is essential now with Elogs.

4. D.Tibbitt

Apr 26, 2013
    Gettin' down westbound