regulations

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by catfisher56, Apr 11, 2007.

1. catfisher56

catfisher56 Bobtail Member

Apr 9, 2007
    Hey All;

I am 56 with a ton of experience in life but not in OTR trucking. I have driven some trucks , and I am a smooth shifter in any vehicle. My biggest problem is the regs, that govern trucking, I have never had a DWI or DUI. one wreck, that was not my fault, and no moving violations in 30 years, I was a welder for 33 yrs. and a LPN(nurse) for 5 years. I am ready to get back into the male run part of life and I'm no sexist, I have been married to the same wonderful woman for 36 yrs. But a surgery I had on my neck and the meds I have to take since the surgery, which have NO bearing on my ability to work or operate anything, shine a dark light on my past. There is no way that all the truckers out there are so squeaky clean that they don't have to take something to get them by. HTN or Diabetes or whatever, none of us are as healthy as we would like to be.
    And depression seems to be a big problem but it's manageable with meds as I know because I take them.Any help ya'll could give me would be great.

Thanks

Kirk

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. heyns57

heyns57 Road Train Member

Dec 30, 2006
    near Kalamazoo Speedway
    To the best of my knowledge, persons with HTN or insulin controlled diabetes are prohibited from driving commercial vehicles.