Seeking Feedback

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by technonoob, May 16, 2024.

1. technonoob

technonoob Bobtail Member

May 16, 2024
    Hello Truckers,

I am a technologist exploring an idea about providing continuous telemetry (camera feed, temperature, and other sensors) from inside a cargo truck. Please excuse my lack of experience in this field, as I have never worked with trucks before. I am seeking feedback on whether this is a significant issue. I've heard anecdotally that having a dashboard to display the condition of the cargo inside the truck (e.g., if anything is broken or the temperature is off) via a single dashboard might be helpful.

Is this a real problem that you face? Are there existing solutions for this? The idea is to install a camera with a simple setup and build software to process and display the data.

Please educate me if I'm missing something or if there are other important considerations.

Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. KDHCryo

KDHCryo Light Load Member

Sep 14, 2023
    You don't need more camera's

You need better truckers who care enough to secure the load, and deliver it intact.

4. Pepper24

Pepper24 Road Train Member

Dec 3, 2010
    I don’t know what good a camera would do.As far as temperature I pretty sure newer refrigerated trailers already have that ability to send that information back to the company and the customer

TX2Day, Crude Truckin' and gentleroger Thank this.
  5. technonoob

May 16, 2024
    That's fair :) From fleet owners perspective, would they be interested in this ? I must also point out the anecdote was from a conversation with an owner not drivers (what my friend told me, so possible some messaging is lost)

6. Blu_Ogre

Blu_Ogre Road Train Member

Jul 14, 2013
    Out west