1. christhemover53090

christhemover53090 Bobtail Member

Nov 9, 2017
    i have a ? about shifting the gears in a truck, i have been driving since 1995 with cars & pick up trucks & some moving trucks,when i started driving,i learned on a 5 speed & i've been driving stick ever since & i never blew a clutch out yet,& i've driven uhauls that were 5 speed,& i hear stories about truckers having to double clutch to shift gears & i always wanted to know why, then 6 years ago my sister was moving & was renting a 28 foot penske moving truck,when she asked if it was automatic or stick,they said it was a stick,& i thought cool,when i asked how many gears it had they told me it was a 10 speed,& i never saw that in a moving truck before,so i started watchinh youtube videos on double clutching shifting,i saw one that might help,so when we went to pick the truck up,the only thing they asked is if i can drive a truck like this & i told them yes,so when i got in to start driving it i saw it had air brakes,so i asked if i needed a cdl to drive it & they said no because its a moving truck,& i dont have 1,so i drove it & somehow i didnt have problems with it,i even had to parallel park it cuz it wouldve blocked the alley cuz there was no driveway,& i didnt get stopped,has anyone ever seen this in a moving truck?

OLDSKOOLERnWV Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Ok I'll take a stab.

Cars and pickups have what is called a synchronized transmission. Whatever the engine is doing matched with the speed of the car within that transmission and it will take correct gears in one throw.