Situation on the labor market

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Borusse, Dec 6, 2023.

1. Borusse

Borusse Bobtail Member

Dec 2, 2023
    Hello, I am a truck driver from Germany and would like to live in Canada.
    Maybe a few questions can be answered here.
    I have friends in BC and they said drivers are desperately needed.
    But when I read through this, everything else isn't urgent.
    That's why I have a few questions:
    Are people really more likely to be exploited and is the work usually poorly paid?
    In Canada and the USA there is always talk of a driver shortage?
    Does the CDL really cost 15,000?
    Are there reputable companies in Canada that sponsor the CDL?
    So far I have only found something like this for the USA.
    I've also seen some videos on this forum of very "risky" rides by beginners on junk vehicles. Why are people like this hired?
    ß
    Thank you for the answers.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2023
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden Light Load Member

Apr 1, 2021
    English please.

4. rollin coal

rollin coal Road Train Member

Mar 29, 2008
    TN
  5. BLBurton

BLBurton Light Load Member

Nov 3, 2022
    Hello, I am a truck driver from Germany and would like to live in Canada.
    Maybe a few questions can be answered here.
    I have friends in BC and they said drivers are desperately needed.
    But when I read through this, everything else isn't urgent.
    That's why I have a few questions:
    Are people really more likely to be exploited and is the work usually poorly paid?
    In Canada and the USA there is always talk of a driver shortage?
    Does the CDL really cost 15,000?
    Are there reputable companies in Canada that sponsor the CDL?
    So far I have only found something like this for the USA.