Skills aquired from 88M Reserves?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Sok, Mar 23, 2008.

1. Sok

Sok Bobtail Member

Jan 7, 2007
    I have a little over 2 years experience of local driving that is from a grocery distribution center. I'm thinking about adding more 'skills' by going into an Army Reserve Transportation company, although I'm not particularly sure what these skills would be. As for the cross-over of skills, I'm guessing I'd be more familiar with maintenance in large trucks.

I'm 23, by the way, making 16.50 per hour with the cap being 21.00 in 2 more years. Would I get a significant cut in pay if deployed? Before I go to a recruiter I figured it would be wise to get some info from someone who isn't trying to make a quota.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. broncrider

broncrider Road Train Member

not much of being an 88m translates to real world trucking

if deployed, no you would not , legaly , get a pay cut, but what does happen is the position you were in tends to go away....happened to quite a few guys in my unit when we were mobilized in '03.

if yer serious about joining, which i happen to think everyone should do at least 3 years active duty, pm me and ill give ya my cell....niether my wife or i are requirters, but you will get our honest opionon of being a soldier, even if it is only part time.

BTW...im a staff sargeant in the reserves, with 12 years of service

4. GasHauler

GasHauler Master FMCSA Interpreter

Oct 23, 2005
    Vegas/Jersey
    Most companies will not consider military driving as the same. You skills that you'll learn in the military will surely help you but you'll be lucky if a company recognizes those skills.

5. Iraqvet

Iraqvet Light Load Member

Oct 28, 2007
    Ashtabula Ohio