Snow season and chaining?

Discussion in 'Swift' started by mike520, Aug 8, 2017.

1. mike520

mike520 Bobtail Member

Jun 28, 2017
    what month of the year are you most likely to chain up?... I'm new to the game

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. buddyd157

buddyd157 Road Train Member

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree
    on a personal level, i never chain up. in fact in all my 35+ years, i never chained up.

so for me....never.

Moosetek13, tazman74, pattyj and 4 others Thank this.
  4. austinmike

austinmike Road Train Member

Jul 11, 2011
    Missouri
    Never chained when I was OTR. If you ask me, if its bad enough to chain its time to park it.

Moosetek13, LWT104, flood and 3 others Thank this.
  5. swaan

swaan Road Train Member

Jul 12, 2009
    BC canada
    Well your awesome. Also a great help to his question.

Where you run dictates more but generally you should hang chains on your truck ready for use from October 1st thru to April 31.
    That should keep you from getting cought with your pants down almost anywhere.

6. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    I've seen chain requirements up in September and May, beyond "carry chains" laws. Point is you just never know but If you run on/above 80 and west of 25, you can probably expect to chain at least some time in November, perhaps sooner.

jmroadhog Thanks this.
  7. The Kraut

The Kraut Medium Load Member

Sep 5, 2013
    Land of Enchantment
    Last year I chained up at Donner Pass in October. Ran over Donner in June this year and it was snowing, in the night they put chain law in effect. So you never know :rolleyes:

swaan, LWT104, jmroadhog and 3 others Thank this.
  8. buddyd157

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree