Start of a new journey.....

Discussion in 'Maverick' started by SgtLugnut, Jun 14, 2016.

1. SgtLugnut

SgtLugnut Bobtail Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Central Louisiana
    Just got off the phone with my Maverick recruiter. Got to call back tomorrow to get my orientation date and then I am off to North Little Rock! I am on my way to my soon-to-be-ex job, so I will make a better post tomorrow morning when I get off work.

ramanrere Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. thodges

thodges Light Load Member

Jul 13, 2014
    daytona beach,florida
    What made you choose them? How long have you been driving? Is this a yeaaaaa i made it post lol. Co grats man.. Hapoy to see you join our delightful world

4. SgtLugnut

SgtLugnut Bobtail Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Central Louisiana
    Ok, a little bit more information. Without getting too far in depth, I graduated from a "Truck Driving School" here in central Louisiana the first week in January. At the time, I had no intention of going OTR. I went in the first place because the VA sent me a letter telling me to use my GI Bill before it expired. ( Apperently if you don't use them within 10 years of your discharge you lose it.) So I figured if I didn't want to go OTR, I could always use it to supplement my current income and drive locally. Unfortunately, most of the local companies around here want at least 1 year of experience. So I put the whole idea of driving on the back burner till about May. My wife was reading the paper and noticed all the ads for drivers. But again, I was lacking in experience. So I went online and started looking at all the major carriers out there. Both of my step children had just married and it was just my wife and I at the house. She said if I wanted to go OTR, she would just go along with me. However the more companies I called the more I was turned away because it had been greater than 4 months sin