Starting a pick up that has been sitting for a year .

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by bzinger, Nov 5, 2019.

1. bzinger

bzinger Road Train Member

Dec 10, 2014
    omaha , ne
    Thanks in advance for the replies !
    My brother in law passed this last spring and I inherited his 2001 ford ranger xlt 4x4 ext cab 4.0 v6 and 5 speed manual trans .
    It's in pretty good shape with 156k on the clock but has been sitting unstarted ...outside ...in Minnesota for over a year .
    I'm a trained tech before I started driving 30 years ago so I know the basics such as pitch the battery and drop the oil...was running good when parked and will give it a good going over before driving it back to Omaha.
    ? Is anything I need to know about starting it after sitting a year? ...I plan to keep it so want to be as kind as possible in the process .

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Have a flatbed truck tow it to the shop. Drop battery, drop all fluids replace them all. Pull a couple of his plugs and see how bad they are. If fouled replace all of them.

You will need to pull the wheels and see where they are in the bearings, brake lines and if all of the brakes need bleeding and fresh fluid put in. (Back to fluids...)

Power steering and so on.

Service the transmission. Don't start that thing until you do. Meaning pull trans pan, look for metal, replace filter and fluids there. Probably the reservoir related to the clutch if it has one. Never let that go dry, if it did you will not have a vehicle anymore.

It seems like a lot of fix fix fix fix but what you are doing is solving problems before you get stranded half way to Omaha if you got in the thing and drive off.