Starting in the industry

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Dublin, Aug 27, 2017.

1. Dublin

Dublin Bobtail Member

Jul 6, 2016
    hey all...

I've been researching this dream I've had of becoming a truck driver for 3 years now.
    I start school September 30th and will graduate December 3rd.
    My driving record is perfect, but I do have a non-conviction misdemeanor for assault that I'm working on sealing (is this a non-issue with most companies?)
    I have my bachelors degree and have been managing at my current company for 3 years and looking for a change.

I'm looking at going regional for FB only, partly because i have a wife and a new born at home (she's been super supportive, by the way).

I need help deciding on a starter company (1 year).
    My wishes are APU, weekends home, cheap benefits, and $900/week gross.

I've narrowed down my top picks to be:
    1) gypsum
    2) TMC
    3) Maverick

I'm also located in the North East (Mass).

Any good suggestions? Maybe there are local companies near me that would hire me out the gate that I'm not aware of?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. rabbiporkchop

rabbiporkchop Road Train Member

Feb 9, 2012
    Wapwallopen, Pa
    How about ABF?

Sho Nuff Thanks this.
  4. Wingnut1

Wingnut1 Light Load Member

Jul 3, 2012
    The Mitten
    What on earth is a "non-conviction"? How old is it? If you are working to "get it sealed" then it sounds like a conviction to me....Most mega's just want a warm body in the seat holding the steering wheel so if you can stand somewhat upright and pass a whiz quiz without studying, you're probably in. APU? Maybe. Home weekends? Doubtful. Cheap bennies? Another maybe but doubtful. $900/wk? LoL...