Stuck in between Class A and B

Discussion in 'Trucking Jobs' started by primetom77, Aug 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. primetom77

primetom77 Bobtail Member

Aug 17, 2008
    Pleasantville NJ
    Okay here's my stiuation.I have been driving for trash compaines for nine years plus now.I've done it all rear load,front load,roll-off and fork/boom trucks.Last feb. I upgraded my cdl to A with hazmat and tanker.I been trying to get t/t job ever since Everybody wants you to have a year t/t expierience(I found out my 9 years on the class B don't mean nothin)I checked with swift and couple others they will hire me but I gotta go through their training at $300-400
    a week for six weeks.I'm doin $1100-1300 now runnin trash,I can't make on that little bit of money for 6 weeks.Even after their training is over they're talkin 45-47k a year.Is that all otr drivers make or is that just a lowball number they throw out there?I really don't need the training for 6 weeks I got driving in my blood.Where can I go get my first year in at decent rate?My goal is to get in at a fuel tanker company they do good round here(South NJ) and are home nightly

Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. SLIDER999

SLIDER999 Light Load Member

May 11, 2008
    PORT RICHEY, FL
    It appears all these companies are running scams. They make a lot of money off all the wanabe hires without a guarantee of a job. You got a good, safe, paying job now. Don't jump ship in this economy , it may very well turn into the Greater Depression. I get calls & then am told gotta be certified by the company school for $6K(at my personal expense). No thanks!

4. MGASSEL

MGASSEL Road Train Member

Mar 27, 2007
    Co
    if you are getting 11-1300 now why change.