student with a background issue..

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by rick263, Jul 25, 2007.

1. rick263

rick263 Bobtail Member

Jul 25, 2007
    miami, fl
    hey there, i am currently a student at the CDL school in S. Florida. i have been interested in the industry for a long time, and finally made the jump to get my ### in gear. however, regardless what the company reps preach in the seminars, i have a problem with a 3rd degree felony that occurred last year for any pre-qual interviews. when companies say "no serious felonies" what exactly are they including? my issue is criminal mischief, and other than that i am clear.... i have been told that pulling local will be my best bet for a while, but i want OTR. any suggestions?? thx

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. scabs

scabs Bobtail Member

Feb 9, 2007
    White Lake, MI
    Dont get down by not geting prehires right off. I have conviction and everybody was getting prehires execpt me. But then they came.
    It takes awhile to run background checks. good luck on getting a local gig right off. That goes for all new grads.
    Also on thing to remeber with companies you apply for NO CANADA.. Unless you get a waiver..

4. rick263

rick263 Bobtail Member

Jul 25, 2007
    miami, fl
    thanks for the info... i got the judge to write orders for travel in the lower 48 so that is a help. just anxious to get going!

5. dancnoone

dancnoone "Village Idiot"

May 6, 2007
    Mississippi

By this comment, are we to assume you are also on probation? And required to report in occassionaly, or more.

That could cause an issue for OTR if it is the case.

6. Peeping_Tom

Peeping_Tom Light Load Member

Jul 22, 2007
    Sharpsburg, Ga