Tail Gaiting

Discussion in 'Australian Truckers Forum' started by aussiejosh, Aug 25, 2010.

1. aussiejosh

aussiejosh Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2009
    Airlie Beach QLd
    G'day , as a truck driver i'm quite ashamed to say every day i see need less and quite dangerous tail gating when i worked at Linfox we were taugh the 3 second rule actually its probably better to use 4 or 5 seconds with a B Double or Roadtrain i work alot in the Bowen Basin i must say its only a matter of time before someone gets seriously hurt by some truck driver that simply doesn't use his head i was tail gated today by a Caltex Truck driven and owned by Crokers in Mackay that driver should be sacked immidiatly, following me at less then 10m gap at 100kmph is just stupidity he did this between Coppabella and Nebo Juntion a distance of over 50 km Crokers need to really get there act together and teach there drivers specially ones driving with dangerous goods to watch there travelling distances.

johnday Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. johnday

johnday Road Train Member

Oh boy! really know what you're saying. Last winter I was in Pennslyvania on I 80. I was first truck in line following a snowplow, it was the best option. We were doing around 50kph, and I look in my mirror, and here's a USX truck 30-50' off my bumper. Of course he was involved in a very important cell phone call. He was so close, I could actually see him on the phone. Another driver called me on the CB and said to really watch it because of the idiot on my bumper. Really frosts your cookies doesn't it?:biggrin_25510:

4. CondoCruiser

CondoCruiser The Legend

Apr 18, 2010
    Tennessee
    It's an act of testosterone and repeatedly getting away with it.

It doesn't make sense to me either if you are a safety aware driver.

You save 2-3 seconds versus death. Kind of a stupid trade off.

gdyupgal Thanks this.