Tax deductions meals

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by Carlojohnrizzo, Nov 5, 2017.

1. Carlojohnrizzo

Carlojohnrizzo Bobtail Member

Nov 5, 2017
    I believe I left a lot of money on the table last year at tax season, I do not want to make the same mistake again. I work for a reputable company and have all logs of this past year and where I was and what the loads were which were all for work. Am I able to claim $46 meal allowance per day I was away from home I am an OTR driver and of course sleep in my truck.... thanks to anyone willing to give me an answer

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dngrous_dime

dngrous_dime Road Train Member

Jan 28, 2014
    Lansing area, MI
    Per diem is what you want to search for.

4. Mark Kling

Mark Kling Technology Contributor

Sep 23, 2007
    Statesville, NC
    No,, really M&IE..

Pub 463 for 2016, 2017 not out yet.

Do a search in this section.

Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing

tscottme Thanks this.
  5. dngrous_dime

dngrous_dime Road Train Member

Jan 28, 2014
    Lansing area, MI
    Since he's asking about daily allowance, wouldn't that be per diem??? I wasn't aware there was anything else.

6. tucker

tucker Road Train Member

Jun 13, 2008
    IN
    Good thing you kept the logs, It's a giant deduction, and you can always amend your tax return and claim the deduction, you;ll get a big refund with interest.
    I'm a company driver and I use these guys for my taxes, I think they're cheap and they know trucker taxes. Trucker Tax Services, Accounting for Truckers, Trucking Consulting

hoosiergirl Thanks this.
  7. Mark Kling

Sep 23, 2007
    Statesville, NC
    IRS refers to as M&IE - Meals and Incidental Expenses.