Texas log book laws

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by joseph1853, Oct 20, 2017.

  1. kemosabi49

    kemosabi49 Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

    7,791
    27,532
    Jan 13, 2013
    SW Arkansas
    0
    The law says you can drive 12 hrs after a 8 hr break. If you are allowed to drive 12 hrs following a 8 hr break then no you do not have to take a break.
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. ZVar

    ZVar Road Train Member

    9,075
    18,264
    Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    0
    You never mentioned if you know if you are intrastate or not. What do you haul and from where? (approx, no need for specifics.)
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  4. joseph1853

    joseph1853 Heavy Load Member

    842
    460
    Dec 12, 2010
    Waco, TX
    0
    Right, didn't see that.
     
  5. joseph1853

    joseph1853 Heavy Load Member

    842
    460
    Dec 12, 2010
    Waco, TX
    0
    Haul asphalt with a 250 mile radius of Waco generally. Never go out of state.
     
  6. ZVar

    ZVar Road Train Member

    9,075
    18,264
    Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    0
    OK, here is the actual link to the actual law, not just a summary as posted above...
    Texas Administrative Code

    As for the 30 minutes rule, I'm not seeing an exception listed anywhere in 4.12 I'm not to sure I would read the law as stating you don't have to take it. Yes it says 12 hours driving, but it does not say 12 consecutive hours...

    As for why I asked about the product you haul.. We get a few posted thinking they can pick up containers in Laredo and deliver in Texas and it's intrastate.... It's not, as the container crosses state lines. I know not applicable to the op, just wanted to mention why I asked.
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  7. kennyjrz

    kennyjrz Bobtail Member

    8
    6
    May 6, 2013
    Hurst, Texas
    0
    NO 30-minute break within 8 hours of work is required. And this is for ALL intrastate loads within the Texas borders not simply for oil patch use. However once you cross a state line, you revert to Federal rules and you cannot switch back to Texas rules until after your 34-hour reset. Also, the Omnitracs system can be programmed for Texas rules. I’m not sure about the other brands of eLogs.
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  8. ZVar

    ZVar Road Train Member

    9,075
    18,264
    Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    0
    Nothing in the law states that. Everything is about what is intrastate vs. interstate is the load, not the driver. If the load is intrastate (Texas only) then Texas rules apply. Doesn't matter if the load you did yesterday went outside Texas or not. I posted a link to the code if you want to refresh yourself on it.....
    Also the 34 is optional....
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  9. ACO476

    ACO476 Light Load Member

    258
    917
    Jan 16, 2016
    Texas
    0
    Happens to me every time I deliver outside of the state of Texas. Logs revert to federal rules and do not switch back to intrastate until a 34 hour reset. We've had drivers who, after crossing the state border, have been placed out of service at a weigh station because logs changed to federal rules and they had not yet taken a 30 minute break. The inspection station in Hobbs, NM is a perfect example. I believe federal rules will always override state rules, which is why this happens.

    And the 34 reset is NOT optional. This is from the link you posted:

    "Drivers of vehicles under this section operating in intrastate transportation shall not be permitted to drive after having worked and/or driven for 70 hours in any consecutive seven-day period. A driver may restart a consecutive seven-day period after taking 34 or more consecutive hours off-duty. Drivers in intrastate transportation violating the 70 hour limit provided in this paragraph will be placed out-of-service until no longer in violation."
     
  10. ZVar

    ZVar Road Train Member

    9,075
    18,264
    Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    0
    Just because software you use limits it, does not mean the law does... Show me in the law where this limit is. Hint, it doesn't exist.

    Note the bolded word of may. It can be used to reset the clock, it is not required.
     
  11. rookietrucker

    rookietrucker Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

    10,061
    7,040
    Jul 15, 2007
    TEXAS
    0
    The best answer you can get, is call or drive over to the DPS office by TSTC. I did a local gig once and I thought the employer was BS'ing me about the Texas HOS. I drove over to the DPS office and got clarification directly from them. They are more then willing to answer your questions correctly.

    BTW, that gig you got hauling from Waco, Does it pay decent ? PM me, thanks
     
    joseph1853 Thanks this.
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted