Thinking about going lease purchase..any feedback appreciated

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by TenSeven, Feb 17, 2014.

1. TenSeven

TenSeven Bobtail Member

Jan 28, 2014
    I'm 27 and fairly new to the trucking industry. I currently work for a big box company. I have a little over a year of experience. I don't have any outside bills like rent/car payment/debt/kids etc. Was thinking about doing the lease-purchase program my company offers. I'm really doing OTR right now just for the experience to get a better local job in the future, trying to get about 4 years experience OTR. Right now I'm a company driver and I want to make more money first, but also want the other benefits that being an owner op offers. My company offers the option of training new drivers and I would get paid for all miles while they (the student/trainee) get hourly on-duty pay. In the end, it doesn't really matter how I get the 4-5 years experience, so why not try out being an owner op, right? Was wondering what a more experienced driver would think. My plan basically is lease either a 2014 Freightliner Evo with a cummins ISX435 ST (if made) engine or lease a KW T680 cummins ISX435 ST and then train new drivers until I can afford to put an APU and some super singles on it and maybe some other mods to increase fuel mileage and then run it for about the next 2-3 years. I'm a hard runner, and I actually really enjoy it, I drive out my 11 every day and usually average about 550-620 a day governed at 62mph. The question is, is this a solid plan? Can it work? Is there a high chance of me drowning in debt? Just wondering what you all think of my plan. I'm good at saving money, and like I said, I do enjoy the job. Any feedback is great, thanks.

Edit: also, was thinking about going LLC if I were to lease.. anyone experienced with being an LLC?

Last edited: Feb 17, 2014
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds