To be a sub contractor or go on pay roll?

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Champagne mane, Jan 18, 2019.

1. Champagne mane

Champagne mane Bobtail Member

Jan 17, 2019
    Hi I worked as an sub contractor for my first year and grossed 50000 in about 10 months my cpp and tax that i have to pay is 9600 I'm wondering how much do companies deduct out of a pay cheque if i go on a payroll

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 3noses

3noses Light Load Member

Dec 16, 2009
    Clearwater, B.C.
    Do you own the truck you are driving?

4. 3noses

3noses Light Load Member

Dec 16, 2009
    Clearwater, B.C.
  5. Champagne mane

Jan 17, 2019
    Well this was my only first year and my accountant filed the taxes in right manner otherwise people before have been around 6000 for 75000 gross and I'm almost paying 10k for 50k gross but my question is since there are strict restrictions now i dont think it's worth it to be incorporating so I'm wondering approximately what percentage do companies deduct out of pay cheque if I go on payroll

6. Champagne mane

Jan 17, 2019

7. HighwaySuperTramp

HighwaySuperTramp Medium Load Member

Feb 8, 2015
    I honestly couldn't tell you, I do have a question for you though. How the hell are you paying in to CPP? When I was an OO I never paid into CPP or EI, my expenses made sure that I never had to.

Actually I never paid Taxes on anything other than GST/HST on fuel and parts/service and I always got that back. So... sorry but in my eyes either you or your accountant screwed something up bad.

3noses Thanks this.
  8. Champagne mane

Jan 17, 2019