Total NOOB question

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by rpgaent, Jan 21, 2018.

1. rpgaent

rpgaent Bobtail Member

Jan 21, 2018
    Hi there,

Not sure if this is the right place and please don't kill me if it is not. I have a good friend whom has been driving truck for 20 yrs, he has driven for a tank line company before (well known). I have the opportunity to basically, buy a truck, put him in it and split the income 38% gross with him. I have a couple of questions;
    • I do not have a CDL, but will need to get the truck to the terminal from where ever we buy it from, so I need insurance, etc for it. Where can I can insurance to bridge this small gap between the purchase and "lease on" time at the tank line?
    • We both want to spell everything out in writing so that nobody has an misconceptions about anything, we basically are doing the following;
    1. split gross of load pay 38% to him, 62 to truck
    2. split detention, overweight, etc 50/50
    3. truck pays fuel / fixes
    4. Driver signs 2 yrs commitment to me, after 12 months he can buy truck for book value, after 24 the truck is signed over to him.
    We are in total agreement with regard to how trucks are maintained, and what our philosophy is about operations and such. My main issue is that I don't have my CDL A but I plan to get it so that in an emergency, I can drive the rigs. I am looking for thoughts advice on this. Especially the insurance question after buying.

Has anyone ever done this, or something close? Pros and cons? Am I completely crazy?

Thanks in advance,

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. PoleCrusher

PoleCrusher Road Train Member

Aug 26, 2014
    LLMF
    Don't go into business with friends

Leased my truck out to a company, have made NO money so far.

Jmans, jammer910Z, mudflap77 and 10 others Thank this.
  4. easytopleez33

easytopleez33 Light Load Member

Jan 6, 2015