Turning right with fuel tanker

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by darkyoung, Dec 2, 2023.

1. darkyoung

darkyoung Bobtail Member

Dec 2, 2023
    I'm new to fuel transportation. How can I make a right turn with tanker in the intersection with tandem all the way back.

Attached Files:

• t1.jpg
      t1.jpg
      File size:
      214.5 KB
      Views:
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. lual

lual Road Train Member

Oct 22, 2020
    SW Georgia
    Don't tell -- let me guess -- you're pretty new to driving ANY big rig -- and not just fuel, right? :confused:

Watch the following video:

Turns in a big rig

-- L

4. Last Call

Last Call Road Train Member

Mar 15, 2021
    This can’t be real , your kidding right ? The answer is your shouldn’t be pulling a tanker if you have that question in all honesty you shouldn’t be driving a truck period

5. 062

062 Road Train Member

Oct 20, 2013
    Slide the tandems up…
    Let us know how that works for you.

6. 062

062 Road Train Member

Oct 20, 2013
    Grease or oil …

Kyle G. Thanks this.
  7. mitrucker

mitrucker Road Train Member

Dec 15, 2010
    Lapeer, MI
    It’s a 43’ trailer. They turn very nicely compared to a 53’ van.

Bud A., aussiejosh, snowwy and 4 others Thank this.
  8. TNSquire

TNSquire Medium Load Member

Oct 13, 2016
    Decatur, TN
    It depends on the intersection.
    I’m going to assume you’re new to trucking and to gas for my explanation.
    The factors are many, but I’ll cover basic ways that i use.
    If traffic is a problem, and you can’t use the oncoming turn lane, then split the lanes as you approach the turn. Go as far as you can before bending it and spin that steering wheel like you stole it to gain as much real estate for your tandems as possible, and be as close to the oncoming cars as you dare. Go very slowly so you can correct before you have a problem.