Went to England

Discussion in 'CR England' started by ed28560, Jun 2, 2009.

1. ed28560

ed28560 Bobtail Member

Apr 29, 2009
    New Bern, NC
    After lots of research and seeking other options (industries), I came to England on May 18th for training. I had no prior experience with this industry and had no CDL. I graduated and was hired yesterday and thought I'd share my own experience (for whatever it's worth) with this company.

Before coming here I got some really good advice from some of the folks here but, going through both recent and archived posts, read ALOT of really negative things about England. Me and my wife both were more than skeptical when I left to come here. We didn't quite know what to expect and half expected (although hoped otherwise) to meet with disappointment in a rather major way.

After going through the school and orientation, I have to say that I have nothing negative to report about this company, either in my own case or in the case of the others in my class.

We began with just under 50 people. In the end, 32 graduated and were hired. Out of the other 18 or so, some failed urinalysis, some couldn't get a medical card, some had lied (by their own admission after being caught) about their background and some simply decided it wasn't for them. A few were recycled to the next class in order to get their medical cards or CDL permits after failing the exam twice. However, by all appearances and by the report of the individual involved, England made legitimate efforts to not send anyone home unnecessarily - and no one who was sent home before graduating will be held liable for the cost of the school. They also received paid transportation (of the Greyhound sort) home.