What do you want in a broker?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by Lilbit, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Lilbit

Lilbit Road Train Member

Aug 4, 2008
    Let me check my logbook
    I am a retired driver, and have decided that I want to become a broker. I plan on starting as an agent for another broker to build my skills, reputation, finances, and client base.

I have read the comments about the bad brokers, and have gathered quite a bit of information from the Brokers 101 thread. I know a few drivers, and have heard what ticks them off about brokers. I have already developed some ideas on what to do and not to do from the research I have done so far. I have also been doing research online and have found some good sources of information and potential ways to obtain info on shippers and carriers.

I am up to the challenge, as I do have an understanding of the industry, though I realize there is always more to learn. My husband is a company driver. I try to keep up with what is going on in the industry.

I am capable of dealing with the pace as well as being able to talk to a variety of people. One particular job I held in the past entailed processing anywhere from 60 - 100 new construction homes through the building permit and certificate of occupancy process with two different county building departments, dealing with everyone from construction superintendents to the sales people, sub contractors, county officials, and the division president. There were a lot of steps involved in that, and I had to know what was going on with each house at every moment - copies of blueprints, truss layouts and various other documents required by the building departments, checks to pay for everything with the counties, etc. I also had to learn that job completely on the fly - it became an individual position when I was hired, as business was booming.