What truck should I buy?

Discussion in 'Landstar' started by rwdfinch50, Feb 20, 2012.

1. rwdfinch50

rwdfinch50 Medium Load Member

Nov 6, 2007
    Leesburg, Fl.
    O.k. guys and gals. This is a serious question, so please give an honest answer based on your experiences as an owner operator, o.k?
    First, about me. I am an experienced driver, with over 30 years experience, mostly as a company driver, but a little while as an owner operator. At that time, I had a Freightliner Classic Xl with a series 60, 500 hp. I definitely do not want to go that route again, with fuel being where it is. So please base your answers on that, I am not a new driver, and I know what you are talking about.
    I will be buying my truck before the end of March, and leasing on with LS. I will be running company van loads to start, maybe buying a trailer later. I am looking at 2007/08 Volvo VN780's with Volvo engines and automatic transmissions to start. I always got getter fuel mileage with automatics, which is why I am going that route. 07/08 is within the price range I want to start with, say 35k to 45k.
    So, can you give me some insight into the quality of the slightly older Volvo motors, as compares to CAT and Cummins? Which has been more dependable for you?
    How about the automatic trannies? Which ones are better?
    Thanks in advance for your insights. I hope to see you guys and gals soon out there.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Kujo

Kujo Medium Load Member

Feb 6, 2012
    in the middle