Where Can I Park For Home Time?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Marine_Trucker_77, May 5, 2018.

1. Marine_Trucker_77

Marine_Trucker_77 Bobtail Member

Jan 3, 2018
    I'm a new driver (trainee) and I'm almost done with training. When I'm done I'll receive a company truck. I live 4 hours from the closest company terminal so parking and driving back and forth is out of the question. I Iive in Northern VA and was wondering if anyone knew of anyplace to park a truck for a 3 to 4 day home time? Also, the nearest truck stop is 48 miles south and is sketchy. Any and all info is appreciated. Smart ### comments are ignored. Thanks in advance.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. SteveScott

SteveScott Road Train Member

Nov 10, 2015
    Find an industrial park near your home that allows street parking and put it there. You might need to move it over a 4 day stay to avoid a ticket, but at least it's something to try. If you have to park with cargo in the trailer unhook and nose the front of your tractor in to the trailer doors so they can't be opened.

Marine_Trucker_77 Thanks this.
  4. dptrucker

dptrucker Road Train Member

May 14, 2012
    adelanto,ca.
    What does your company say?
    I would think this should have been asked before you got hired if commuting that far is an issue

stwik, driverdriver and misterG Thank this.
  5. kemosabi49

kemosabi49 Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Jan 13, 2013
    SW Arkansas
    Any small trucking companies have yards in the area. They may agree to let you park there for some $$. Or try rv storage places.

Lav-25 Thanks this.
  6. misterG

misterG Road Train Member

Jan 21, 2009
    ask my dispatcher
    What dptrucker said.

Ask your company FIRST. They may have options that are available.