Why aren't logs required for local work?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by ad356, Sep 22, 2017.

1. ad356

ad356 Road Train Member

Mar 13, 2017
    This is in no way a suggestion to the dot, but why aren't logbook required for everyone driving any type of cmv. As a local driver I am exempt from h.o.s., we don't have logbook or elds of any type

Why? Or is this garbage coming down the road for us local guys and gals?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Alaska76

Alaska76 Road Train Member

Jan 20, 2014
    Inland Empire, WA
    Don't worry, be happy.:)

Toomanybikes, Grubby and pattyj Thank this.
  4. buddyd157

buddyd157 Road Train Member

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree
    it has to do with "air miles" and hours you work. if you travel under (i think) 100 air miles, no log. if you work under (i think) 12 hours, no log.

someone more familiar with this can chime in. i need to do a log myself as i put in 300 miles (round trip) nightly, but under 9 hours (most nights)

5. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    See you are not exempt from hos. You are exempt from needing to keep a full grid log if you meet all three criteria.
    1. No more than 12 hours working.
    2. Less than 100 air mile radius
    3. Start/stop in same location.

If you meet all three you can do a timecard, instead of a full graph log. Remember though you still need to be aware of your 60/70 hour clock. It is still in affect.

heyns57, Longarm, tscottme and 3 others Thank this.
  6. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    As for the question asked, could you imagine what a graph log would look like for a local delivery guy with 28 stops....

DTP, strollinruss, Longarm and 4 others Thank this.
  7. buddyd157

buddyd157 Road Train Member

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree