will a ltl co. hire me

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by 79tkx, Dec 8, 2012.

1. 79tkx

79tkx Bobtail Member

Nov 21, 2012
    Im a full time firefighter, 45 yrs old, ready to retire, wanting to go to a good ltl co. Full time, I have a class a cdl, i have 10 years exp. Driving,, for a local truck repair shop, I shuttle trucks ,trailers to and from our two shops, we do work for every major .ltl carrier in town. My mvr is spotless, I have my doubles endosement, getting my hazmat, I want to start applying to these places this spring, a year or so ago I was approved to drive for fed ex ground, however i didnt take the job,, I would like to run linehaul, I dont mind being gone for a few days at a time, as im gone every third day now plus a part time job, do you guys think a good ltl outfit will hire me, and can I make $ 45000 a year doing it, im making a major career change here, but i love driving and i know what im getting into, money is the big thing, i cant make less than i do now

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Marksteven

Marksteven Road Train Member

Apr 24, 2009
    Bumble Fxxx
    This time of the year is not prime hiring time however i would definitly start leaving applications . The thing about LTL besides knowing someone who works for the outfit is "right time at the right place"

4. 79tkx

79tkx Bobtail Member

Nov 21, 2012
    Ok,i know most of the terminal managers,we do work for, usf holland,,con way,abf,yrc,old d,saia,vitran,fed ex, I pull their stuff everyday , I dont have alot of doubles exp. But i have built sets, and pulled them, im just wondering if you guys think i have enuf exp. To get hired on ? I have had a cdl for 15 + years,did some otr a long time ago, but all I have in the last 10 years is my part time shuttle job, thanks

road_runner Thanks this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011