Your advice for a rolloff business truck?

Discussion in 'Waste Removal and Garbage Truck Driver Forum' started by Fredy, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Fredy

Fredy Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2016
    Washington, D.C
    Hello all, what is your advise for a starting rolloff business truck setup? I've been researching for recommend engines and have come across posts saying suspension is more important. Also, used or new truck and which? I would appreciate a mentoring advice because I'm very new to the world of trucking, in fact I'm soon to take the CDL B exam but would like to jumpstart the truck search. Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. street beater

street beater Road Train Member

Apr 18, 2014
    cold as hell, MN
    Hevey spring will ride nicer than those solid state suspension things, but theres alot more to roll off than that. At least 400 horse, i had a 425 merc engine, handle bout anything. Cable or hook? Single axle, tandum, single with tag, tandum with tag(s). Wheel base for max weight, ifta for running deep in nebior states, county haul tags... do you have dumpsters? You dont have a cdl but your gonna start a business? I was very close to the owner of a roll off business plus my years doing it... i hope you have a plan, or at least alot of money

4. Fredy

Fredy Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2016
    Washington, D.C
    Hi street beater, thanks for your comment. I have some experience with a ram5500 and 15 yard dumpsters. I learned that camelback or Hendricksons are ideal for rolloff trucks and I'm looking at a tandem. I have 22 ft long dumpsters that require a 200+ wheelbase. When you say tags, do you mean hazard placards?

5. street beater

Apr 18, 2014
    cold as hell, MN