Speeding up unload times

Discussion in 'Refrigerated Trucking Forum' started by asphaltreptile311, Sep 25, 2016.

1. asphaltreptile311

asphaltreptile311 Road Train Member

Jun 16, 2016
    Haven't hauled a reefer I'm new to trucking . I hear a lot of guys talking about unload times lasting a decade, is there any way to speed this up? Let's say someone has experience unloading and they don't hire a lumper could they save a little time? Pure rookie just seeking knowledge

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. OOwannaBE

OOwannaBE Medium Load Member

Mar 12, 2015
    Nashville, TN
    There is no stopping the inevitable.

magoo68, fargonaz, Dharok and 3 others Thank this.
  4. diesel drinker

diesel drinker Road Train Member

Apr 10, 2015
    I doubt it.Then you will have to wait for them to count it anyway.it can be done if you only have one guy to "tip".

Dominick253 Thanks this.
  5. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    HA. That's asking God to slow the earth so we can unload in no time at all. He he he.

Unloading.... ah the joys. /sarcastic.

Let's say this.

I have told suits that I am not moving one more box now. Dropping that trailer in 135 degree temps half unloaded and they can stuff it. Bobtailed back home. This is after about 10 hours back there broiling in the heat. Im surprised they did not fire me. They could. SHould.... Suit yelled.

I hate suits to this day. Sorry.

Dharok, Dominick253 and BUMBACLADWAR Thank this.
  6. Kyle G.

Kyle G. Road Train Member

Jan 23, 2016
    Eastern Iowa
    I believe the secret to faster unload times is to get a job that pays by the hour. Murphy's law dictates that if you are getting paid to sit there, then someone will make sure you don't sit there long.