Am I crazy?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by SavageSam, Apr 28, 2017.

1. SavageSam

SavageSam Medium Load Member

Feb 7, 2009
    I want to become an O/O. The thing that's stopping me is I know enough to know I don't know enough about what I'm getting myself into. On the one hand I think the way to go is buy used and pray I don't get a lemon. On the other, I've been driving for the man for twenty years in 2018 and I've never had a spanking brand new truck to call my own. Using my own math I figure in another year (maybe three, depending on how much I want to put down) I'll have enough cash for a GOOD down payment. I'm 50 years old and I plan to drive until I'm 70 and hang it up. Which means I might have to buy two trucks before I quit. Some of my Friends say I'm crazy because I have a good job now hauling fuel. But I want my own brand new ride before I hang up my spurs.

Badmon, TallJoe and Lepton1 Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. scythe08

scythe08 Road Train Member

Mar 19, 2007
    Portland, Or
    If you want to do it, do it. You're driving someonelses truck because they went out and did it and were successful enough to buy more trucks.

I personally would never buy a brand new truck. Buy one a year old with maintenance records. Same new smell, 20%cheaper and the break in bugs are gone (hopefully)

But seriously. Do it, if its what you want and commit to. If not, then stay with your gig

fargonaz, Lepton1 and SavageSam Thank this.
  4. Largecar359

Largecar359 Road Train Member

Aug 13, 2011
    New Jersey