Automatic Truck loses transmission air

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Schöne, Feb 28, 2024.

1. Schöne

Schöne Bobtail Member

Feb 23, 2019
    I'm not a new driver but I'm new to driving automatic trucks. I've driven both KWs and Peterbilts and they both lose transmission air when backing up and you have to wait for air to build up if you shift too many times. This is especially frustrating when backing in tight spaces where you have to reposition several times. Is there a trick to it? I've heard of not using the brakes too much etc....but it doesn't seem to help.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. North Pole Nightmare

North Pole Nightmare Heavy Load Member

Dec 15, 2021
    Might be easier backing in R1,if it's going into R2 when reversing.

Bean Jr. Thanks this.
  4. Brandt

Brandt Road Train Member

Sep 17, 2012
    Freightliners have Hill Start Assist. When backing if you push brake pedal it will come on and hold truck then dump the air when you move. You could try turning it off if you have that button on dash. Just make sure you don’t roll. Flat parking lots you don’t need it and it seems to use more air

5. MACK E-6

MACK E-6 Moderator Staff Member

Sep 19, 2005
    Baltimore, MD
    Welcome to the new way, which everybody knows is so much better than the old “manual” way.

Hatt91, Bean Jr., Bud A. and 5 others Thank this.
  6. Moosetek13

Moosetek13 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2010
    Burnsville, MN
    I have used both Freightliners and Internationals with auto and neither had that problem.

7. Blagoje

Blagoje Medium Load Member

Jul 14, 2022
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin