CDL B - Propane or Cement truck

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by nomoreups, Dec 11, 2023.

1. nomoreups

nomoreups Bobtail Member

Apr 3, 2018
    FL
    To make it short, I do have 4 years experience as a CDL-A driver but am looking at local propane delivery like ferrellgas or amerigas or local cement truck, like Cemex or Argos. Anyone have advice on either, which one would be better? I assume cement truck works longer hours, but which would pay more?

blairandgretchen Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. prostartom

prostartom Light Load Member

Jun 20, 2014
    I have no experience with cement hauling or residential propane delivery, but I spent 12 winters doing residential heating oil delivery. Residential deliveries have their own set of problems, it can be very rewarding when the homeowner is appreciative but can also be downright infuriating when they refuse to cooperate.

Finding the right house, dealing with dogs, finding the fill location and dealing with a lot of homeowners can be quite exhausting. Many homeowners do not want you to use their driveway and will refuse to do anything to make your life easier. Many times just as I got the hose pulled and started pumping they would come out and ask you to move so they can leave for whatever reason. "You mean to tell me you didn't hear my loud truck backing up the driveway going beep beep beep, but now you have to leave?" I have also had homeowners release their dog as you are pulling the hose and act like they didn't realize you were there. Having a 75 lb German Shepard coming charging at you and trying to figure out if its friendly or not in the 3 seconds it takes to reach you will get your heart pumping.