Cell phone ticket in a car

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by TruckerDee84, Nov 8, 2019 at 4:31 PM.

  1. rocco92

    rocco92 Bobtail Member

    35
    6
    Aug 20, 2017
    0
    Your own car. You wont get fired. The companies truck a possibility.
     
    FlaSwampRat Thanks this.
  2. TruckerDee84

    TruckerDee84 Bobtail Member

    11
    3
    Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Thanks for your replies fellas. I’m gonna look into getting a lawyer
     
    70’Nova and fishonron Thank this.
  3. starmac

    starmac Road Train Member

    6,093
    11,059
    Apr 11, 2019
    Fairbanks Ak
    0
    As a company driver, I don't know what it would or could do, but I do know how a seat belt ticket in my private vehicle did to me and one other oo I know, it isn't anything to sneeze at come time to renew insurance. lol

    It just shows up as a safety violation, not sure how a phone violation would show up. It is not illegal to talk on the phone here, but it is to text.
     
    Lepton1 Thanks this.
  4. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    28,689
    31,850
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
    Violations need to be reported to the employer once a year after conviction which means you paying the ticket fine or being convicted of something.

    So you have at least that long before your employer finds out.

    My state managed to make a huge deal about cells on the wheel. They would send your car to the crusher too if they could.
     
  5. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    1,077
    639
    Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    0
    Within 30 days after conviction.
     
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  6. SteveScott

    SteveScott Road Train Member

    2,457
    6,527
    Nov 10, 2015
    0
    Doubtful if that's true. We all have one driving record with our state, and it doesn't differentiate between personal and work vehicles for violations.

    Your employer may have no choice but to fire you if their insurance company won't cover you. I've worked for 2 companies that said when I was hired that if I got a cell phone violation while driving work or personal vehicle, the party was over.
     
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  7. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    28,689
    31,850
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
    30 days?

    What I remember each year late around this time is handed a form.

    That form contains one question.

    "What tickets have you had this year?" and contains lines for you to write in type of ticket, fine paid, convicted or pending.

    Thats what I have in my mind when talking about this subject. When you say within 30 days is it now a required monthly thing?

    I don't want to be caught with old information but at the same time I wish to clarify and defend my position if at all possible.
     
  8. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    1,077
    639
    Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    0
    Yep, you are referring to the Annual Review of driving record. This was added some years back.

    §383.31 Notification of convictions for driver violations.

    (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d) of this section, each person who operates a commercial motor vehicle, who has a commercial learner's permit or commercial driver's license issued by a State or jurisdiction, and who is convicted of violating, in any type of motor vehicle, a State or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than a parking violation) in a State or jurisdiction other than the one which issued his/her permit or license, shall notify an official designated by the State or jurisdiction which issued such permit or license, of such conviction. The notification must be made within 30 days after the date that the person has been convicted.

    (b) Each person who operates a commercial motor vehicle, who has a commercial driver's license issued by a State or jurisdiction, and who is convicted of violating, in any type of motor vehicle, a State or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than a parking violation), shall notify his/her current employer of such conviction. The notification must be made within 30 days after the date that the person has been convicted. If the driver is not currently employed, he/she must notify the State or jurisdiction which issued the license according to §383.31(a).
     
    x1Heavy and Lepton1 Thank this.
  9. Lpirtle

    Lpirtle Bobtail Member

    25
    21
    Oct 11, 2019
    Owensboro, ky
    0
    Of course though; that's *convicted* not charged. So its 30 days after OP is actually proven guilty of the violation. So OP doesn't have to let his employer know about the ticket until after he is proven guilty essentially. However, you are correct; OP cant just wait a year to tell his employer. (Unless traffic court takes that long to bring a verdict.)
     
    x1Heavy and Lepton1 Thank this.
  10. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    1,077
    639
    Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    0
    That is correct, “convicted”, that’s what the reg states.
     
    x1Heavy and Lpirtle Thank this.
  • Draft saved Draft deleted