Do I have to itemize my per diem

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by Mr biggs, Nov 21, 2016.

1. Mr biggs

Mr biggs Light Load Member

Aug 18, 2016
    right near the beach
    This is the first time I'm taking per diem while doing my taxes. my old company had always factored it in in each check, I'm not sure if I take the standard deduction then add the per diem or itemize because my per diem will be more than S.D.. is per diem considered a deduction or just non taxable income. I'm a company driver.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ExOTR

ExOTR Windshield Chipper Extraordinaire

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    You have to itemize to take the deduction, and it reduces your taxable income.

crb and brian991219 Thank this.
  4. ExOTR

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    To clarify- Are you on a per-diem pay package or are you regular pay and planning to claim per-diem on taxes?

5. Mr biggs

Aug 18, 2016
    right near the beach
    Regular pay I have to claim per diem at tax time.

6. ExOTR

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Say you gross 50k- You were gone 240 nights of 2016.
    63x240x0.8= About 12k

50k-12k=38k
    You only pay income taxes on 38k rather than 50k

Ooops Thanks this.
  7. ExOTR

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Turbotax will calculate it easily for you, so will most tax offices. Just keep a copy of all your logs in case you get audited. I was audited in 2009, I just had to prove I was actually gone 270 days that year.

rabbiporkchop Thanks this.
  8. Mr biggs

Aug 18, 2016
    right near the beach
    so I guess I have to itemize. I did not know that, I'll still make out good but I didn't keep any of my receipts so it could have been alittle better. thanks for the info, lesson learned I'm gonna be a reciept hoarder from now on.

9. rabbiporkchop

rabbiporkchop Road Train Member

Feb 9, 2012
    Wapwallopen, Pa