Double brokering

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Twisted Steel33, Dec 8, 2023.

1. Twisted Steel33

Twisted Steel33 Bobtail Member

Dec 8, 2023
    So I’m fairly new to the trucking industry. I have some trucks leased on with company ‘A’. Well the last 5 months company A’s work has gotten pretty slow. So company A, that I’m leased too, goes to company B to get help with freight.

Company B dispatches my guys directly, takes their 10% dispatch fee and sends their pay sheet to company A, now company A takes out their dispatch fee, again 10%. And sends me a payment sheet not showing or indicating that company B has taken any more out of is even in the equation on paper.

is this legal? Standard? Should I go after this to get my money back?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. wichris

wichris Road Train Member

Jan 17, 2011
    Is "B" a dispatch company or broker? It's legit, but why would anyone put up with it?

tscottme Thanks this.
  4. Twisted Steel33

Dec 8, 2023
    We are not, I’m moving on for this reason and others. But B is another trucking company

5. Judge

Judge Road Train Member

Mar 19, 2014
    Arkansas
    Do y’all have a lease agreement, since hauling B’s freight?
    Is B just a Carrier, or do they have broker authority?

Can you not just… pull lease with A, lease to B, go for -10% vs -20-% ?

6. Twisted Steel33

Dec 8, 2023
    We only have lease agreement with ‘A’, B is only throwing ‘A’ a bone. But at this point we are breaking ties with A. Both are only carries that get loads from relationships/load boards.

7. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    OK first what does your lawyer say?

If you don't have one, and you have more than one truck, go get one.

It isn't a good thing not to have legal advisors to look at different contracts and contract disputes.

So on with the show.