Go backward in pay to drive Class 8

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Gonzo1300, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Gonzo1300

Gonzo1300 Light Load Member

Sep 30, 2013
    Hey guys. I've been on a couple of other threads talking about my license situation. I've been driving Hot Shots for a company for well over 10 years and make good money but they are now going to move to Class 8 trucks. I did not take my CDL test with a truck with air brakes so I would have to retake the entire test again. Which puts me in a bind because I can't say I've been driving class 8 trucks for 10 years I'm basically a new driver paying for school or doing the dreaded sign your life away for a year for no money. Well the more I check I will simply make more money staying in Hot Shot then I would moving up to Class 8 trucks and get a new driver pay for a year or two. I could definitely not go back to that starting pay of .28 to $0.32 a mile stuff I got two kids in college. I was honestly interested in Snyder's lease Choice program but of course it's just like I don't have no driving experience at all because I was not driving class 8 trucks so it's like I'm just getting in the industry. Talk to three different companies Snyder being one of them and they basically said the same thing no you're pretty much going to have to start off at the startING new driver pay. Kind of sucks considering both my dad and both uncle's drove trucks until they retired all three of them within the past 4 years. I really was looking forward to having more available loads from the DAT boards lol. By the time I put weight limit and stuff like that in there 90% of the loads disappear LOL.

rabbiporkchop Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mark Kling

Mark Kling Technology Contributor

Sep 23, 2007
    Statesville, NC
  4. Gonzo1300

Sep 30, 2013