(Hopefully) New OD driver: Indianapolis

Discussion in 'Old Dominion' started by inbdusfor20yrs, Aug 9, 2014.

1. inbdusfor20yrs

inbdusfor20yrs Light Load Member

Jul 22, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN
    Hey guys.. I am gonna try updating my experience with OD in this thread. I am new to doing this, so I apologize if I babble LOL

I decided to go to SAGE CDL school here in Indianapolis because they offer the most drive time. It wasn't the best experience because of the trainer and it reflected when I took my driving test with the BMV. It worked out for the best though, because if I would of passed the first time, I would of went to Schneider's orientation the following Monday.

While I was waiting for my retest for my CDL, I signed up for Monster.com to send me driver jobs in my area. One of the emails was for OD. It said they took new graduates so I called them just for the heck of it and they told me to come and apply that same day. I went to their Indy terminal, put in my application and had an interview on the spot. He said as soon as I get my CDL to let him know.

When I got my CDL issued, I called the OD recruiter and he told me to come in the following day, which was yesterday. He had me update my application and we spoke about what position I would be good for. We both decided that P&D would fit me and the company. Next, he scheduled me for my road test which was today at 10am. After that he sent me to take my drug test. As soon as I got the test done (within the hour) I came back and handed the paperwork to another recruiter. I signed a few more forms, and she got her camera out and told me we needed to take a picture for my employee ID. I had the biggest grin ever when she took the picture LOL. She then told me Monday morning she will send my packet to corporate for their approval (If the road test goes well) and we should hear back from corporate in a week. Two at the most.