I have decided to explore o/o through Crete / Shaffer.

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Farmerbob1, Sep 24, 2018.

1. Farmerbob1

Farmerbob1 Road Train Member

Jan 17, 2017
    Firstly, I am a 47 year old driver with 2.75 total years of driving experience. 1.25 years with Stevens Transport and 1.5 years with Shaffer (Crete.)

The first thing I did after deciding to look closely at the idea was verify that I can stay on my current account, which is getting me 3000-3500 miles per week. The pay for an o/o on the account is between 1.04 and 1.09 per practical mile. Current fuel surcharge of .31 per loaded mile.

For a long time I was thinking about trying to get a 'better' truck than the one I am driving now, but, honestly, the 2016 Freightliner I am in has 405k miles, and still gets the same fuel economy as it did 220k miles ago when I got into it. So I have asked for Crete to price the truck for me to buy it. We shall see what number they come up with, then I will check the number against similar vehicles in a couple used truck magazines.

If the price is decent, I will take the truck to a Freightliner dealer and ask them to verify that all recall service, if any, has been performed on it. I will also have an oil analysis done, and spend a few hundred bucks on a diagnosis and inspection.

While this is happening, Crete will be enrolling me in an o/o class to explain their program. I can take the class without a commitment to becoming an o/o with Crete.

I have verified that Crete has no issues with me modifying the truck to have an APU. I keep my chains in front of my passenger seat anyway. That's for the future though, after the truck is paid off.

If I buy it, the truck will retain roughly 100k miles of factory warrantee, and there will also be a 250k mile power train warrantee added to the truck.